DU'S first Doctorate in Science became INSA Chief



Professor Srinivasan Varadarajan

PhD 1952 Do Chemistry

now Platinum Jubilee Professor INSA

President Indian National Science Academy 1996 - 1998

Indian Academy of Sciences Bangalore 1980 -1982 Indian National Academy of Engineering 1992 -1995

Nutrition Society of India 1982 -1986

One of South Asian subcontinent's major scientific minds across half-a-century, Varadarajan also taught Chemistry in the Department 1949-1953 before going as Member Pembroke College University of Cambridge 1953-1959.

Among this many lab-breakthroughs is his work at Hindustan Lever which led to transformation of non-edible oil and forest products into valuable industrial raw materials such as detergents and perfumery goods.

He was Chairman Petrochemicals Corporation IPCL 1974-1981, Engineers India Ltd EIL, now in its Golden Jubilee Year and whose current CMD H S Purwaha is an alumnus, too, was also DG CSIR and Member Royal Society of Chemistry.

He was among the handful to receive a PhD in 1952.

At Convocation 91 in 2014 our University has awarded as many as 399 doctorates!



Dr Kavita A Sharma
BA Eng Hons 1969 MA Eng 1971
LLB 1984 PhD 1978
The first lady Principal
Hindu College 1998 – 2008
Director India International Centre IIC since 2008
The first Fulbright New Century Scholar 2007

Dr Kavita A Sharma has been Visiting Lecturer to Women's Christian College Tokyo and University of Indonesia